A mobile application for restaurant customers

Honored Guest

A mobile application for restaurant customers
Client
PAO Rosinter Restaurants Holding, a publicly held company
Duration
6 months
Industry
Food Industry
Team
1 Project manager
1 Analyst
1 QA Engineer
1 UI/UX designer
1 Back-end developer
3 Mobile developers
Technologies
iOS
Android
PHP

Re-engineering of a mobile application for the large restaurant chain operator.

Details
Client
PAO Rosinter Restaurants Holding, a publicly held company
Duration
6 months
Industry
Food Industry
Team
1 Project manager
1 Analyst
1 QA Engineer
1 UI/UX designer
1 Back-end developer
3 Mobile developers
Technologies
iOS
Android
PHP
  1. Challenge

    The "Honored Guest" mobile application released in 2014 replaced loyalty cards for thousands of restaurant customers. People used it to get discounts and updates on existing promotions and to order delivery of food. The customer wanted to maximise its audience and increase sales but failed to achieve these goals. The application was slow, returned errors and often crashed on mobile devices. It lacked a number of important features, and the delivery ordering process required a new interface and optimisation. All this negatively affected the score on Google Play and App Store and naturally resulted in customer outflow. Attempts were made to improve the situation by its own efforts and with the participation of third party specialists, but none were successful. The application required a major redesign. The customer came to us with this request.
  2. Solution

    Taking into account the large audience of the application, the developers faced a difficult task. The new application was to resolve the problems of the previous one without scaring away existing users. Besides, the customer was planning a large-scale marketing campaign for the release of the updated "Honored Guest" app, so the deadlines for the development process were strictly fixed. Our thorough analysis showed that the architecture of the application would have to be changed in order to achieve the goals. The food ordering feature was also to be redesigned in order to reduce the time required to make an order and to simplify the ordering process. Brand new features were added to the application:
    • Templates were introduced for the orders and favourite meals that users could now save.
    • A bonus accumulation system was implemented.
    • An online booking feature for tables was added.
    • Customers could now rate the quality of service in restaurants.
    The iOS and Android versions were written in the Swift and Kotlin languages. Our designers overhauled the entire user interface to make it friendlier and more intuitive. The application speed increased significantly, and the updated architecture helped to remove bugs and crashes. The project required 6 months and a team of 8 to implement.
  3. Result

    The new version of the application was launched successfully. We managed to remedy the existing defects of the "Honored Guest" app, and most of the users liked the updated interface and enhanced functionality. The average score increased from 1.9 to 4.9 stars on App Store and from 3 to 4.7 stars on Google Play. The application's ratings improved, which resulted in the rapid growth of the audience. Our work resulted in:
    • Increased sales of the chain thanks to the improved food ordering feature.
    • Rapid reduction of application-related complaints.
    • Increased customer loyalty in the company's restaurants.
    • The application became easier, faster and cheaper to improve.
    The results of our work were highly praised not only by the customer. The updated "Honored Guest" application was awarded Gold as the Best Service Application on Tagline Awards 2018.

For full details please check our detailed presentation

Download presentation

Мобильное приложение для клиентов сети ресторанов

Почётный гость

Мобильное приложение для клиентов сети ресторанов
Клиент
Росинтер Ресторантс Холдинг
Продолжительность
6 месяцев
Индустрия
Индустрия питания
Команда
1 Менеджер проекта
1 Аналитик
1 QA-инженер
1 UI/UX дизайнер
1 Back-end разработчик
3 Mobile разработчика
Технологии
PHP
Android
iOS

Реинжиниринг мобильного приложения для крупнейшего в России владельца семейных ресторанов «IL Патио», FRIDAYS и других.

Детали
Клиент
Росинтер Ресторантс Холдинг
Продолжительность
6 месяцев
Индустрия
Индустрия питания
Команда
1 Менеджер проекта
1 Аналитик
1 QA-инженер
1 UI/UX дизайнер
1 Back-end разработчик
3 Mobile разработчика
Технологии
PHP
Android
iOS
  1. ПРОБЛЕМА

    Мобильное приложение «Почётный гость», вышедшее в 2014 году, заменило пластиковые карты лояльности десяткам тысяч посетителей ресторанов. С его помощью люди получали скидки, информацию об актуальных акциях и заказывали доставку еды. Заказчик стремился к расширению пользовательской аудитории и увеличению продаж, но достичь поставленных целей не удавалось. Приложение работало медленно, выдавало ошибки и часто вылетало на мобильных устройствах. Ему не хватало целого ряда важных функций, а процесс оформления заказов на доставку нуждался в обновлении интерфейса и оптимизации. Всё это негативно отразилось на оценках в Google Play и App Store, и привело к закономерному оттоку клиентов. Были предприняты попытки исправить ситуацию собственными силами с привлечением сторонних специалистов, но они не увенчались успехом. Приложение нуждалось в серьёзной переработке. С этой проблемой заказчик обратился в нашу компанию.
  2. РЕШЕНИЕ

    Учитывая, что вокруг приложения уже сформировалась большая аудитория, перед разработчиками стояла непростая задача. Новое приложение должно было решить проблемы предшественника, при этом не отпугнув старых пользователей. Кроме того, заказчик запланировал проведение широкомасштабной маркетинговой кампании к запуску обновлённого «Почётного Гостя», поэтому нужно было уложиться в строго зафиксированные сроки разработки. В ходе тщательного анализа задачи мы пришли к выводу, что для достижения поставленных целей придётся изменить архитектуру приложения. Также нужно было переработать функцию заказа еды, чтобы на оформление заказа уходило меньше времени, а сам процесс был бы проще и понятнее. В приложение были добавлены совершенно новые функции:

    • Появились шаблоны для сохранения заказов и любимых блюд;
    • Реализована накопительная система бонусных баллов;
    • Добавлена возможность онлайн-бронирования столиков;
    • Стало можно оценивать качество обслуживания в заведениях.

    iOS и Android-версии приложений были написаны на языках Swift и Kotlin. Наши дизайнеры полностью переработали пользовательский интерфейс, сделав его дружелюбным и интуитивно понятным. Скорость работы приложения значительно повысилась, а обновлённая архитектура позволила избежать багов и вылетов. Для реализации проекта потребовалось 6 месяцев и команда из 8 специалистов.
  3. РЕЗУЛЬТАТ

    Запуск новой версии приложения прошёл успешно. Нам удалось избавить «Почётный Гость» от недоработок предшественника, а обновлённый дизайн и расширенная функциональность пришлись по душе подавляющему большинству пользователей. Средняя оценка в App Store выросла с 1,9 до 4,9 звёзд, а в Google Play – с 3 до 4,7 звёзд. Приложение поднялось в рейтингах, что привело к резкому увеличению пользовательской аудитории. По итогам проделанной работы:

    • Увеличилась выручка сети благодаря улучшенной функции заказа еды;
    • Резко снизилось количество жалоб на работу приложения;
    • Повысилась лояльность клиентов ресторанов компании;
    • Улучшать приложение стало проще, быстрее и дешевле.

    Результаты нашей работы оценил не только заказчик. В рамках церемонии TaglineAwards 2018 обновлённое приложение «Почётный Гость» получило золото в номинации «Лучшее приложение для услуги».

Скачайте презентацию этого кейса в формате PDF

Скачать