Software Platform for Designers

Family Manager

Software Platform for Designers
Client
PIK Group
Duration
September 2019 - Ongoing
Industry
Construction
Team
2 .NET developers
1 Front-end developer
1 QA engineer
1 Project manager
Technologies
Angular
.Net framework

Sibedge experts helped transfer one of the client's key software platforms to the cloud, making it more accessible, flexible, and scalable.

Details
Client
PIK Group
Duration
September 2019 - Ongoing
Industry
Construction
Team
2 .NET developers
1 Front-end developer
1 QA engineer
1 Project manager
Technologies
Angular
.Net framework
  1. Challenge

    The Family Manager platform is a self-written software solution for designing residential buildings. It is a manager of inventory components that designers use to assemble future buildings in 3D editors. Manager library is constantly updated with new elements, thereby expanding the range of possibilities for the experts.

    The platform was originally developed as a desktop application for Microsoft Windows. It was not easy to maintain and scale this solution, so management decided to move the platform to the cloud so that designers could access it from any device that had access to the Internet.

    To speed up the process, it was necessary to involve additional external experts in the project. The client made the decision in favor of Sibedge, taking into account its experience and involvement of experts who actively studied niche technologies used in architecture and construction in order to immerse into the project.
  2. Solution

    Once they started working on the project, Sibedge experts carefully studied the existing desktop solution and made a number of suggestions for improvement, which the client accepted with enthusiasm. Current development was temporarily suspended in order to implement deep code refactoring. This made it possible to make the platform more flexible and to free it from cons that prevented further development.

    A particular challenge for developers was the use of an internal authorization system, which was linked to all the client's software solutions. Authorization, component manager, and plug-ins for integrating it with Revit and Civil 3D 3D editors from Autodesk had to work as a seamless eco-system, despite different programming languages and technologies.

    The client appreciated the advantages of the professional testing process, so additional QA experts were involved. Initially, only three people worked on the project from Sibedge, but later the team was expanded to six erperts at the request of the client. Core technologies used for Family Manager were: NET Framework, Angular, and PostgreSQL database management system.
  3. Result

    By refactoring the code, the developers managed to save the platform from potential issues that might arise in the future. Not only did this improve the stability of the software solution, but it also significantly accelerated the process of migrating the system to the cloud, which has been successfully completed to date.

    The fact that Sibedge experts quickly became involved in a rather difficult subject area of the project was a significant benefit for the client. What might have taken others months to learn, they learned in just two weeks. Family Manager functionality extension continues to date, but the client is already planning to collaborate with Sibedge on other internal projects.

For full details please check our detailed presentation

Download presentation

Review

Client photo
Sergey Krivoy
Leading system analyst
We were very pleased with the usefulness of the service provided. On your side, everything is coordinated by the project manager and their assistant. You hold daily meetings, once a month — retrospective meetings. All agreements are met. We have never had any unpleasant situations. Speaking of code, I believe that everything should always be clearly described. So that you don't have to redo it later, and nothing should fail. In this regard, Sibedge experts are in line with our home team. Your back-end team lead really helped us out. And it is thanks to you that we have taken the software testing process to a new level. Expectations from our cooperation were met. It is as if your employees were in our own staff. And for me, this is the most important thing: to perceive remote experts as part of a full-fledged team. I would definitely recommend Sibedge to my friends.

CAN'T FIND WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR?

Let's discuss your project Let's discuss your project

Программная платформа для проектировщиков

Family Manager

Программная платформа для проектировщиков
Клиент
ПИК
Продолжительность
Сентябрь 2019 - по н.в.
Индустрия
Строительство
Команда
2 .NET разработчика
1 Front-end разработчик
1 QA
1 Менеджер проекта
Технологии
.Net framework
Angular

Специалисты Sibedge помогли перенести в облако одну из ключевых программных платформ клиента, сделав её более доступной, гибкой и масштабируемой.

Детали
Клиент
ПИК
Продолжительность
Сентябрь 2019 - по н.в.
Индустрия
Строительство
Команда
2 .NET разработчика
1 Front-end разработчик
1 QA
1 Менеджер проекта
Технологии
.Net framework
Angular
  1. Задача

    Платформа Family Manager — это самописное программное решение для проектирования жилых домов. Оно представляет собой менеджер номенклатурных компонентов, из которых проектировщики в 3D-редакторах собирают будущие строения. Библиотека менеджера постоянно дополняется новыми элементами, расширяя тем самым возможности специалистов.

    Изначально платформа была разработана в формате десктопного приложения для семейства операционных систем Microsoft Windows. Поддерживать и масштабировать такое решение было непросто, поэтому руководство приняло решение перенести платформу в облако, чтобы доступ к ней проектировщики могли получать с любого устройства, имеющего доступ к сети.

    Для ускорения процесса нужно было привлечь к проекту дополнительных внешних специалистов. Решение в пользу Sibedge в качестве исполнителя клиент принял, отметив опыт и вовлечённость экспертов, которые ради погружения в проект активно изучали нишевые технологии, применяемые в архитектуре и строительстве.
  2. Решение

    После начала работы над проектом эксперты Sibedge тщательно изучили существующее десктопное решение и внесли ряд предложений по его улучшению, которые клиент воспринял с энтузиазмом. Текущая разработка была временно приостановлена, чтобы осуществить глубокий рефакторинг кода. Это позволило сделать платформу более гибкой и избавить её от недостатков, препятствующих дальнейшему развитию.

    Определённым вызовом для разработчиков стало использование системы внутренней авторизации, на которой завязаны все программные решения заказчика. Авторизация, менеджер компонентов, а также плагины для его интеграции с 3D-редакторами Revit и Civil 3D от компании Autodesk должны были работать в единой связке, несмотря на разные языки программирования и технологии.

    Клиент по достоинству оценил преимущества профессионально выстроенного процесса тестирования, поэтому были привлечены дополнительные QA-эксперты. Изначально от компании Sibedge над проектом работали всего трое человек, но позднее по решению заказчика команда была расширена до шести специалистов. Основными технологиями в работе над Family Manager стали .NET Framework, Angular и система управления базами данных PostgreSQL.
  3. Результат

    С помощью рефакторинга кода разработчикам удалось избавить платформу от потенциальных проблем, которые могли бы возникнуть в будущем. Это не только повысило стабильность работы программного решения, но также значительно ускорило процесс переноса системы в облако, который на сегодняшний день был успешно завершён.

    На руку заказчику сыграл тот факт, что специалисты Sibedge очень быстро погрузились в достаточно непростую предметную область проекта. То, на что у других инженеров могли уйти месяцы, они изучили всего за две недели. Работа над расширением функциональности Family Manager продолжается по сей день, но уже сейчас клиент планирует сотрудничать с Sibedge и над другими внутренними проектами.

Скачайте презентацию этого кейса в формате PDF

Скачать

Отзыв клиента

Фотография клиента
Сергей Кривой
Ведущий системный аналитик
Нас очень порадовала полноценность предоставляемого сервиса. С вашей стороны всё координируют руководитель проекта и его ассистент. Проводятся ежедневные встречи, раз в месяц — ретроспективы. Соблюдаются все договорённости. У нас ни разу не возникало каких-то неприятных ситуаций. Говоря про код, я считаю, что всё всегда должно быть понятно описано. Чтобы потом не приходилось переделывать, и ничего при этом не отваливалось. В этом специалисты Sibedge сегодня работают на одном уровне с нашей внутренней командой. Очень помог в работе над проектом ваш тимлид по back-end части. И именно благодаря вам мы вывели процесс тестирования программного обеспечения на новый уровень. Ожидания от нашего сотрудничества оправдались. Мы работаем с вашими сотрудниками так, словно они наши. А для меня это самое важное: воспринимать удалённых специалистов как полноценную команду. Я бы смело порекомендовал сотрудничество с Sibedge своим знакомым.